Rozsamaria’s Continued Adventures in Pillow-making

Today I have another post about pillow-making.  This time, I made a pillow from one of my Grandpa’s old sweatshirts for my uncle P.  The method was basically the same as last time – turn it inside out, trace the square, cut, and sew – with one complication: the design was close to the neckline of the sweatshirt, so if I’d sewn the square as it was the design would not have been centered on the pillow.

The sweatshirt, turned inside out, with the square marked on it (in orange) - note how close the design is to the shirt collar

The sweatshirt, turned inside out, with the square marked on it (in orange) - note how close the design is to the shirt collar

The two squares, pinnned together and cut out

I wanted the design to be centered, but it was an easy fix.  I traced, pinned, and cut my squares, and then I sewed the top and bottom edges together.  I unpinned the sides so that I had a tube of fabric and adjusted it so that the design now lay in the center (meaning the seams I’d just sewn were no longer at the top and bottom pf the pillow cover – one now appeared on the front and one on the back).  I sewed the sides, leaving a gap to insert the pillow.  (I apologize for not taking pictures of that.)  Once I turned the pillowcover inside out and put the pillow inside, I picked the closest-matching thread I could find and sewed up the edge.  Finished pillow!

The finished pillow

Leave a Reply

