Spry’s Wedding Present – Part 2

The quilting!

I decided to make a “plaid” of sorts with the quilting.  I used blue and yellow thread and sewed straight (ish) lines on the lattice work.

The threads I used for the machine quilting

A close up of the “plaid” effect – I hope the picture is clear

For the hand quilting, I sewed two hearts in the center patch and a tiny heart on one corner.  I think I used a stem stitch but now I’ve forgotten.

I drew a heart pattern and pinned it to the quilt, then stitched around it. This is what I usually do when quilting shapes.  I used a blue thread that matches the blue in the fabric and would show up nicely against the yellow.

The overlapping hearts

A close up of the little heart in the corner

The completed quilt

Happy wedding to Spry and her husband!  مبروك!

Leave a Reply

