Anlichan’s birthday present

Here, finally, is the much-promised post with Anlichan’s birthday present:

I was inspired, oddly enough, by the carvings on the ends of the pews in my church.  (What is odder, perhaps, is that this is the second of her birthday presents in a row that has been inspired by my church.) Each pew is carved on the end with a circle inset with a cross.  I thought the design would make a pretty decoration.  I can’t find a picture of the pews but this is the design:

Anlichan’s favorite color is blue.  I chose two of my prettiest blue fabrics for her.  I took a dinner plate and I traced a circle into each fabric.  I cut the piece that would serve as the inner segments into four quarters.  I was planning to make my present square, not round, so the outer pieces weren’t going to have curved outer edges.  I cut a square around the circle that I’d traced on the other fabric, for the outer segments, creating four corner pieces with right angles, with the curve forming the concave third side.  I am not sure this description is at all clear, but the blue segment in the picture below is what I mean.

I pinned the inner quarters and the corner pieces together along the curved edges.  I pinned very carefully (and excessively), and I was pleased that they came out well.  (I was a bit worried, it being a present and all.)  I was careful to match up the inner points of the curves.  I’ve read somewhere that people mark the inner points on the wrong side of the fabric or cut little slits to make them easier to match up.  I’ll confess that I eyeballed it, but carefully.

I cut extra strips of the outer fabric and sewed them between the four quarters to create my cross.

I cut a square from a third blue fabric for the back and sewed the pieces together, right sides together, leaving a small space to turn it right side out.  Then I sewed the hole up and started the hand quilting.  I picked a coordinating pink thread and I used a cable stitch to outline the four quarter pieces.

It’s not a very functional present – purely decorative. 🙂

Like Anlichan’s present, this post is quite overdue.  She forgave me, luckily, and in the future I shall try harder to keep my posts more punctual.

2 thoughts on “Anlichan’s birthday present

  1. Pingback: Musings on quilting inspirations | Habibi Homemade

  2. Pingback: Appliqued Doll Quilt | Habibi Homemade

Leave a Reply

