Christmas mantle runner

Apologies for the week-late post.  I am not always good about keeping with our self-imposed schedule.

This week I’m posting about an old project, a runner.  I made this for Mama and Papa S a couple of years ago.  Mama S asked for a Christmas runner for their mantle after I’d made them a regular runner.  I chose the pattern and the colors.  The top has a center strip of gold fabrics with blocks of four triangles on either side.  The back is made of solids blocks alternative with squares made of two rectangles.  I used lots of “Christmas” fabrics, pointsettas and holly and gold scrolls.

The top of the runner

close ups of the front

(Forgive the formatting issues – sometimes wordpress thwarts me.)

I believe the runner is 60 inches long by 20 inches wide – give or take.  Those were the approximate dimensions needed to amply cover my parents’ mantle.

I quilted a rectangle in green inside of the center strip (in the gold fabrics) and I also quilted approx. a quarter inch outside of the gold strips:

Here are close ups of the back:

Christmas is still a couple of months away, so the runner won’t make it’s appearance just yet. My parents have three or four pieces I’ve made for them on display in the house, and Mama S switches this runner out with the everyday mantle runner.  I’ve yet to post about that one – I’ll make that my next post.  Also, as Christmas nears – and then passes – I should have more recent projects to post about.  I don’t like to feature presents until after the recipients have them, but I’ve got several things in the works for the holidays.

Leave a Reply

