Baby quilt for a little girl

I promised that my next post would be about the non-Christmas mantle runner I made for my parents, except I don’t appear to have any pictures of it.  I shall have to take pictures next time I visit them.  In the meantime, here is the quilt I made for my friends N and J (the ones for whom I made the wedding quilt I posted about a month or so ago) when they had their baby girl several years ago.

I picked yellow, since it’s a neutral color – I didn’t want to go overly pink.  I LOVE the banana print.  I have very little of it left, which is a pity because it’s adorable.  I think (?) I bought it for the quilt, but it’s been awhile so I’m not sure.  I wanted a window pane effect.  I used colorful squares, some of them made of the cute flannels people sell for baby quilts.   I’d bought cute nursery rhyme fabrics, including two of the “Hey diddle diddle” nursery rhyme, one in flannel and one not flannel, with a matching striped flannel fabric.  I used strips of fabric for edges on the front and the back.

The top of the quilt

I hand-quilted stars and moons into the places where the banana strips cross.  I also hand-quilted the corner windowpane squares.

A hand-quilted moon

A star hand-quilted into one of the corner patches – note the strips of flannel on two sides of the patch

The back features the nursery rhyme fabrics.

The back of the quilt

A close up of the back showing the nursery rhyme fabrics – the central piece (a flannel) has lines from “Hey diddle diddle” and both fabrics feature characters from the nursery rhyme.

A close up of one of the quilted stars, from the back

I used yellow thread for the quilting, which blended into the front but showed up nicely on the back.

I embroidered the baby’s name on a patch on the front in pink thread.  I thought the final product was so cute and bright.  The flannel also made it nice and soft.  I don’t use flannel much, except for baby quilts – I usually only buy it for that purpose.

3 thoughts on “Baby quilt for a little girl

  1. Pingback: Baby quilt for N and J – Part I | Habibi Homemade

  2. Pingback: Blue and Yellow Doll Quilt | Habibi Homemade

Leave a Reply

