Wedding quilt for N and A – Part I

I mentioned, I believe, that I made three quilts this spring.  This is the third.  My friend N got married back in January, but it took me a while to finish the quilt.  Then, I didn’t see them for a couple of months, and I don’t like to post until I’ve given the recipients their presents.

N and I have known each other since the fourth grade.  I attended her bat mitzvah, during which she read from the story of Noah.  Her wedding invitations had a drawing of a sun rising (or setting) over green grass, and the rainbow shades reminded me of her bat mitzvah reading.  I decided to make a rainbow stripe quilt.

I cut six-inch long strips in rainbow shades: reds, pinks, oranges, yellows, greens, light blues, dark blues, and purples.  The strips are of varying widths – I believe the narrowest are about 1.5″ wide and the widest are about 4″ wide.

Here are the strips all piled up:

IMG_7458 IMG_7459

Here is the row of light blue strips, all laid out:

IMG_7463

I arranged them in whatever order I found most pleasant, and then sewed them into long rows.  I wanted the quilt to be approximately 40″ square.

Here are the completed strips:

IMG_7548 IMG_7549

I sewed all the strips into one big block.  The row of red across the top is a little hard to see in this picture; apologies for that.

IMG_7552

I’m not sure of the exact measurements of the quilt.  Since I had eight 6″ rows, the quilt came out around 40″ long, and I think it’s slightly wider.  I wanted it a little larger, so I added a solid strip of sky blue as a border:

IMG_7563

In my next post, I’ll cover the quilting.

Leave a Reply

