Stockings for charity

My quilt guild makes stockings for charity at Christmas.  They provide the fabric and a pattern.  Putting the stockings together was a breeze!

First, I traced the pattern.

IMG_0964

The guild had samples with ribbon trim on them, and I didn’t want to make subpar stockings.  So, having cut out the stocking pieces, I then pinned ribbon to them.  The ribbon pinning was actually the hardest part.

IMG_0977 IMG_0978

I also folded the top edge under twice to hide the raw edges, and pinned.

IMG_0979

Then I sewed the top edges and the ribbons down.

I made little hooks by sewing a long thin piece of fabric lengthwise to make a tube and turning the tube inside out.  I used a safety pin to turn it inside out.

IMG_0974 IMG_0975 IMG_0976

I pinned the matching sides of each stocking together with a hook.

IMG_0980

I sewed around the edges and then turned the stocking inside out.

IMG_0984

I was able to make several stockings with the fabric the guild had provided me.  I ended up with enough large scraps to make one more stocking.  I sewed all the large scraps together to make pieces of fabric large enough for the patterns.

IMG_1002 IMG_1005

I cut the stocking pieces and did the same thing I had done with the other stockings.

IMG_1008

It was fun and easy to put the stockings together.  Such a breeze.

Leave a Reply

