Quilt for me! – Part III

I’ve started pinning and sewing the curved parts of my blocks.  It takes so much longer to pin and sew the curved pieces than a straight edge would take.  If I did my math properly, I need to make 192 blocks.  So far I’ve got forty-something blocks pinned and sewn, so it’s slow progress.

As I noted in my last post, I hadn’t used both templates for the Drunkard’s Path pattern, only the one template.  I noticed that the templates don’t fit each other exactly and I wondered how it would work out when I hadn’t used both templates.  When I pin my pieces together, I end up with a little bit extra on both sides:

IMG_1115

So I guess my blocks will end up smaller than I’d expected, but that’s not the end of the world.

As you may observe, I pinned these a LOT.  I realized after several tries that 9 is approximately the right number of pins.

Here’s my completed pile so far:

IMG_1118

Here’s what I have left (not counting the blocks with the white centers and the assorted colors on the outside – I’m working my way through the blocks with the colored centers first):

IMG_1121

At this rate, it’s going to take me a long time to get through all 192 blocks.

2 thoughts on “Quilt for me! – Part III

    • Well, I figured since the quilt is for me, it doesn’t matter if I mess them up! I’ve been quilting for six years and I’m always learning new things. I actually did curved piecing once on a very small birthday present for anlichan, so I knew I was at least capable of it.

Leave a Reply

