Doll quilts – Part VIII

This is my last blog, at least for now, about the doll quilts that my quilt guild is collecting for Childhelp.  Childhelp is a charity that gives dolls and teddy bears to children who’ve been abused.  Here’s the link: http://www.emergencydolldispatch.org/donate.html.

As I mentioned in my last post, I was delighted to open up my bundle and find one of the quilt tops I had made and donated.  I didn’t feel like I had time to finish them over the summer, so I donated the tops as they were.  I was really excited to get the chance to finish one of mine and quilt it.

I found quilting motifs in ”501 Quilting Motifs: Designs for Hand or Machine Quilting,” by Quiltmaker Magazine.

IMG_1060 IMG_1062

I did the corners with these little flowers.  I used purple thread for contrast.  (As I’d learned from the other doll quilt, the more contrast the better if I want my design to pop.)

IMG_1066IMG_1098 IMG_1097 IMG_1095

I quilted the center of the doll quilt with this pattern:

IMG_1056 IMG_1055

The picture in the pattern shows an eight-point design made of four rings, so to speak, with points – two outer rings and two inner rings with a total of eight points.  I saw that if I followed the pattern, four of the points would have overlapped onto the yellow corners and not left room for the little flowers.

I started with the outer ring that had four points that fit in the center diamond.  I used yellow thread, again for contrast.

IMG_1065

Then, I quilted the second part of the design, the second outer ring.  I eliminated the four points and just closed the curves where the points would have been, so that there wouldn’t be overlap onto the corners.  I used a pale purple thread.  I think the color shows up best in the third picture.

IMG_1093 IMG_1099 IMG_1100

I did not quilt the inner layer of the design, the inner two rings.  I thought it looked good as it was.

IMG_1092

It’s cute, isn’t it?  I wanted to make something special for the little girl who gets it.

One thought on “Doll quilts – Part VIII

  1. Pingback: Stuffed animal for N’s 1st birthday | Habibi Homemade

Leave a Reply

