Pot Holders – Part III

Today I’m featuring the pot holders I made for my Uncle P.  I used plaid fabric because that’s neutral and masculine.  (Uncle P isn’t married; most of the pot holders I made were for couples and, honestly, I chose my fabrics based on the female half of the couple’s aesthetic preferences.)

I followed the same procedure as before: I made my little sandwich of fabric, batting, and insulating batting, and then I sewed around the edges.

Once I turned the pot holders right side out, I quilted them.  I did a simpler design than for Aunt M’s potholders – just a square, drawn two inches in from the outer edges.  I used blue thread.  The only problem I had was that the fabric is woven and it stretches more easily than non-woven fabrics do, so my traced line for the quilting moved a bit as I went along.  I think you can see that in the picture.  Lastly, I sewed on the straps.

I think my pot holders look really cute, but they’re larger and stiffer than most pot holders and I’m afraid that might make them hard to grip.  If that’s the case, people can always use them as hot plates (trivets) instead.

 

Leave a Reply

