Charity quilt follow up

I hope you all had a lovely weekend!  I’m posting an extra post this week – which I’ve been doing a lot of lately; as I get more into my blog, I want to share and post more!  Anyway, I wanted to update you on my charity quilt, which I turned into my guild at our final meeting of the year on Saturday.  My parents and my sister visited me and my mom went to my guild meeting with me.  It was nice to share it with her.  I’m slowly making friends at the guild, after being a member for two years (I’m chatty but shy), and the quilting retreats have been the biggest help in that regard.  Those ladies are now my mom’s friends, too, so we both got to see them.  I’m hoping to prevail upon Mom to attend with me whenever she’s available.

The ladies at the quilting retreat last week had assured me that I’d win a prize in our guild charity quilt competition.  When Mom and I got to the meeting and I saw the beautiful quilts other people had made, I had my doubts.  Mom and I voted for my quilt, but although I know my design was creative, the quilting wasn’t as skilled.  To my surprise, I won one of the judges’ choice prizes!  I got some fabric (which I gave to Mom to increase her stash), a special wash for quilts, and little sticky things for marking blocks and rows (very useful for someone like me, whose design board is her bed or couch).  Everything will be put to good use.

After the guild meeting, we walked to the nearby fabric store.  We didn’t buy anything, but I know Mom is hooked now because she started talking about other quilts she could make for people.  You know you’re a quilter when you start planning projects you don’t have time for!

We all met for mass afterward, along with my boyfriend (Z) and my roommate (J). Then we took my dad out to dinner for Father’s Day.  We had a beautiful day and it left me with my Sunday free for errands, gym, and quilting.  I’ve gone back to my Hunter’s Star quilt now that I’ve finally finished the charity quilt, and tomorrow’s post will feature that.  I neglected it to finish my charity quilt and now I’m trying to get it done so I can move on to my summer projects.

Leave a Reply

