Veterans Day

I’d like to wish a special Veterans Day (or Remembrance Day) to all our armed forces, veterans, and their families today.

My Swiss grandpa was in the US Army during WWII, delivering mail in both theaters.  He didn’t talk about it much, except that he liked being stationed in Alsace-Lorraine because the local kids spoke German to him.  We took him to the WWII Memorial in DC one year and that meant a lot to him.  It’s really nicely done.  We went around from battle to battle and he pointed out the ones where he’d had friends who died.  If you live in the US and you get a chance to go, I recommend it.

On a related note, poppies are my favorite flower, and I wanted to share some of the beautiful quilts from the Bloggers Quilt Festival that featured poppies.  The Bloggers Quilt Festival is over, but you can still enjoy the gorgeous quilts!

http://szabonemarika.blogspot.hu/2014/10/quilt-fesztival-osz-2014.html

http://marjoriesbusycorner.blogspot.ca/2014/10/bloggers-quilt-festival.html

Also, this one doesn’t have poppies but it’s a Quilt of Valor:

http://thingsthatarenotperfect.blogspot.com/2014/10/stars-strips-qov-and-bloggers-quilt.html

And this is a fabulous American flag quilt:

http://quiltfolk.blogspot.com/2014/10/the-making-of-long-may-it-wave-and.html

This is just a small sample of the amazing quilts in the quilt festival.  I really enjoyed seeing everyone’s inspiring work.

I’m posting later than usual today because I have another holiday.  (I know! Being a civil servant has some perks hehe.)  I had to work alllll day Sunday so this is my compensation: a make-up sewing day.  First I need to go to Michael’s – if you live near one, and you have time today, they’re having big sales!  My goal is to make all my Christmas presents this year and I have some non-fabric supplies to pick up today.

I don’t have a project to show you today; instead, I want to talk about de-stashing.  I don’t usually do Sunday Stash posts because I don’t post on Sundays, but I have bought a ton of fabric this year.  Of the five (five!) quilts I made this spring, only two of them came entirely out of my stash.  (One came from my stash except for the backing.)  I’m currently working on two big projects, both of which I had to purchase all the fabric for.  So that alone means I bought yards and yards and yards of fabric this year.  I also bought other fabric, some for projects for next year and some because I’m trying to get more solids in my stash.  I live in a small city apartment.  I don’t have a lot of space for my sewing stuff, and next year we’re not planning to re-sign our lease, so I’ll need to move all my fabric.   I want to get rid of the fabric I don’t use so I don’t have to move it.

Conveniently, my grandma decided that she wants scraps to make Christmas presents this year.  Also, I had my guild meeting this weekend and the charity committee takes fabric donations.  It was perfect timing.  I went through all the bins where I keep my fabric and I pulled out everything I really don’t think I’ll use.  I think the total was 19 yards.  I sorted about five yards of that into a pile for my grandma – mostly assorted prints that are pretty enough (plus my remaining Christmas fabric scraps) – and everything else went to the guild.

My goal between now and when our lease is up (which isn’t for months and months) is to use as much of my fabric as I can, and then when it’s time to move I’ll probably de-stash again.  I’ve seen some people keep track of their incoming and outgoing fabric.  I’m afraid to attempt to estimate that because I had so much coming in this year, but maybe I’ll try it for next year.  I like the idea of trying to keep my stash a manageable size.  Hopefully one day I’ll move out of the city and have a house with actual sewing space, but in the meantime it’s hard to keep things organized.

Leave a Reply

