Pre-Thanksgiving recipes!

Hello habibis!  I had a pretty productive week.  I finished my FMQ project (look for that during my Advent calendar posts!) and working on my magnum opus and Christmas presents.   We had our first spell of very cold weather and then, suddenly, back to warm weather Sunday and yesterday.  J (my roommate) traveled to Philly to run the marathon (and she did great! one of her best times) and I thought I would get sooooo much sewing done, but I spent a lot of the weekend with Z – not that that’s something to complain about.

Just a quick reminder, beginning on Sunday (the first Sunday of Advent) I’ll be starting my Advent calendar posts, a post for every day of Advent.  Check back in then!

Thanksgiving is almost upon us, so I’m sharing some recipes.   Amy at Indigo Cottage Quilts – and someone else, but I can’t remember who – suggested that I share a couple of Hungarian recipes, sour cherry soup and mushroom soup.

Hungarian sour cherry soup

Ingredients:

1 lb sour cherries (fresh or frozen), pitted
6 cups water
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup sour cream (you can use plain yogurt)
2 tbs flour
dash of salt

1.  Cook cherries with water and sugar, about 10 min.
2.  Mix sour cream or yogurt with flour until smooth.
3.  When cherries are done, temper the sour cream/yogurt mixture with a few ladle-fuls of hot cherry liquid.  Whisk until smooth.  Transfer into the pot with the cherries and whisk until smooth.  Simmer five minutes.  Don’t boil.
4.  Let cool to room temperature.  (Put the top on or cover tightly with plastic wrap.)  Refrigerate until cold.  Serve cold.

You can replace the sour cherries with regular cherries, but leave out the sugar or use less.
Hungarian mushroom soup

Ingredients:
2 tbs olive oil
2 cups chopped onion
1 1/2 to 2 lbs mushrooms sliced
1 tsp salt
2 to 3 tsp dried dill (or 2 to 3 tbs freshly minced)
1 tbs mild paprika (I use spicy paprika)
2 tsp fresh lemon juice
3 tbs flour
2 cups water
1 cup milk at room temp
black pepper to taste
1/2 cup sour cream
finely minced fresh parsley as garnish

1. Saute onions in olive oil over medium heat for about 5 min; add mushrooms, salt, dill, and paprika.  stir well and cover.  Let cook for about 15 more min, stirring occasionally.  Stir in lemon juice.
2. Gradually sprinkle in flour, stirring constantly.  Cook and stir another 5 min or so over medium-low heat.  Add water, cover, and cook for about ten min, stirring often.
3. Stir in milk; add black pepper to taste.  Check to see if it needs salt. Whisk in sour cream and heat very gently.  Don’t boil or cook after this point.  Serve hot topped w/parsley.

I love this soup with rye bread.
Enjoy these recipes!  If you try them, let me know what you think!  They’re two of my favorites.  For my fellow Americans, have a very happy Thanksgiving; for the rest of the world, enjoy the rest of the week!
Leave a Reply

