Christmas stockings for charity

Welcome, habibis!  For the second day of Advent I want to get us right into the holiday season with stockings. My guild makes stockings and stuffs them with gifts to distribute to local children. (I’m not sure the name of the charity.)  See my previous posts about making stockings here and here.

My guild gives out a wax paper template, which you can see in my previous posts. You trace it and voila. All you have to do is sew the two sides together and make a little hanger.  If I can, I fold the fabric so I can trace both sides at one time. (I pin the layers to make cutting easier.)

My guild wanted 1/2 inch seams instead of a quarter inch, because last year when they stuffed them some people’s seams split. I think I did a pretty good job of it this year, but it was an adjustment.

I made eight stockings. I tried to use up as many of my scraps as I could. I sewed my scraps together to make found fabric or used them for borders at the top. The remaining scraps went to my grandma for whatever presents she wants to make this year.  (She has Parkinson’s but she can still do some crafting with her aides and she requested fabric for that.  Destash! I can buy more Christmas fabric next year if I need to. It always goes on sale before the holidays.)

Here are the eight stockings:

I took them to my November guild meeting.  I thought they came out really cute and I was excited to use up my leftover Christmas fabric.

Speaking of Christmas, I’ve made progress on presents!  Last week I had made three presents (plus two birthday presents that I gifted at Thanksgiving – I’ll be posting about those later this week).  I had plenty of sewing time over the long weekend – most of Wednesday, most of Friday, and most of Sunday – and I’ve now got 11 presents completed.  I have staggered deadlines – some things need to be mailed, and I’ll be seeing some family only at my brother’s wedding, not at Christmas – which has helped me prioritize presents and work on them in batches.  Since some presents are going out earlier, I’ll be able to post them before Christmas, too.

Come back tomorrow for my first Travel Tuesday installation.  Over the course of the next four weeks I’m going to post about my travels to Europe and the Middle East, split into two Northern Europe posts and two Mediterranean posts.  Tomorrow’s post will be Northern Europe Part I.  (I am incredibly blessed to have traveled so much that I need four blog posts to talk about it.  My list of things to be thankful for at Thanksgiving was very, very long.)  If I can get my act together I’ll even have pictures!

Leave a Reply

