Throwback Thursday: Train Quilt for Grandpa

Today is the first of my Throwback Thursday posts, all of them featuring quilts I made several years ago and never blogged about.  Today I’m showing you a train-themed quilt I made for my grandpa back in approximately 2009.

My grandpa LOVED trains.  He used to play train video games, read train books, watch train movies… He and my grandma bought a house near train tracks, where he lived for most of his life.  I still take that train to go home sometimes and I think of him and my grandma every time the train passes their house.

For the quilt I bought a bunch of different train fabrics and supplemented them with geometric prints in basic colors.

I started with a large four patch and then I added borders around it.

I think the center squares are approximately 10″ each and the rest of the borders are made of 5″ squares (or 5″ strips for the first border) – but the math of that doesn’t quite add up, does it?  It’s been so long I don’t remember.

When the quilt got wide enough I added rows on the top and bottom. All the rows and borders have patterns of some sort with specific colors.  The first border is clouds with coordinated blue and white corners.  The next border was red and white prints (with the red, yellow, and green on white print at the corners).  The next border is green and blue prints, mostly stripes.  The next border is grey and black – including the train tracks.  Etc.

 

I ended up making it too big. I’ve never measured it but it’s very long. I finished with a navy blue border.

 

I didn’t know how to bind so I turned the edges under. I sewed that down and did all the quilting with red thread. The quilting is in the ditch, I guess.  I quilted around different borders – but not around everyone, I don’t think.

The back is this red print – which pops up periodically in my other quilts (I must have bought so many yards of it!!) and which you’ll see again in my magnum opus in a couple of days.

After my grandpa passed away I took the quilt back. I’m saving it for when i have kids.

I made a matching train pillow – I don’t have pictures of that. I don’t have the pillow anymore; I think I gave it to one of my cousins.

Thanks for joining me for this Throwback Thursday!  Tune in tomorrow and I’ll be showing you the birthday present I made for my aunt M.

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Train Quilt for Grandpa

Leave a Reply

