Goals for 2015

Happy New Year, habibis! I hope your holidays have been wonderful.

 

I’ve been thinking about my goals for the new year for a while now.  First of all, as I mentioned a while ago, I want to destash before I move.  I have chosen the arbitrary number of 50 yards of fabric out of my stash before I move (which I expect to be mid-year).  Is that crazy?  Probably.  I have some big projects coming up before then, so I know I’ll reach about a third of that goal without trouble. No idea if I can do the rest.

That brings me to my second goal: charity work.  I want to do more charity sewing this year.  I’ve decided to dedicate a day each month to charity sewing.  That should help me get rid of my scraps, too.  Look for more charity sewing this year, particularly for my guild.  There’s also no hats in the house, and the Wounded Warrior project has block drives, too.  I want to participate in more of those, where I can just make a few blocks and don’t have to feel like I’m committing to another quilt when my quilt schedule is pretty full for the first half of the year.

I’ve joined the Stash Bee!  I’m very excited about my first bee ever.  I don’t want to overextend myself, but I decided I can handle an extra block or two a month, and I really want to expand my skill set.

I think I’m going to sign up for one of the Stitched in Color classes (speaking of expanding my skill set).

Lastly, I have a lot of quilting books, and I ask for new ones even though I haven’t used some of the old ones.  So another goal for this year is to do the Library Project.  The point of the Library Project is to actually make things using the quilting books you have.  I’d love to say that I’m not getting any new quilting books until I make at least one project from every book I already have – but I doubt that’ll happen.  (I also have a 501 blocks book, and I’d love to make every single block and make sampler quilts out of them, but who has the time?  T-Rex gave me a quilt-a-day calendar for 2014 that I LOVE and I want to make some of those quilts, too, so I’m hanging on to that as part of my “library.”)

I’d like to be more involved in the blogging community.  I always try and then things get busy and I have to fall back.  Maybe this year I can do better.

So, those are my goals.  We’ll see how I do!

2 thoughts on “Goals for 2015

Leave a Reply

