Dog bed and other charity sewing

Hello habibis! It’s been weird not posting for you every day. I actually set up my last few posts to go automatically so I haven’t written a post in a couple of weeks. So it feels like a return to me even though I didn’t take a real break from posting.

I hope your holidays were wonderful. I spoiled myself and took a lot of time off of work. Z and I spent a week visiting our respective families and once we returned I treated myself to a long weekend. I spent some time sewing while we were out of town and most of my time sewing once we got back.  (Returning to work yesterday wasn’t easy!)

I have plenty of Christmas presents and birthday presents to share with you, now that they’ve finally been gifted, but I want to post about some charity work instead. (Bear with me!) As you know, one of my resolutions was to dedicate one day a month to charity work and another resolution was to destash. I made Saturday my charity day for January, but I’ve also been chain piecing scraps for about a week. Some of those will become doll quilts and some will become presents.  I’ve got all sorts of things in the works right now! Lots of WIPs (more like orphan blocks that I’ve made from scraps that need to be pieced together). On Saturday I only worked on things that I know will go to charity.

I started with my old comforter from college. I used it until I made myself the Drunkard’s Path quilt a year ago. I decided I’d turn it into a dog bed. It’s meant to be reversible, light blue on one side and navy on the other, but I always used the light blue on top and it shows. It got very thin and I kept having to sew it up.

 

I decided to remove the light blue and the batting, fold the dark blue in half, sew it almost all the way around, and then stuff the light blue fabric, the batting, and any other scraps back in to finish it.

I cut it open along the edges and realized – foolish (oblivious) me – that the comforter had been quilted and I wouldn’t be able to remove the top two layers. No matter. I simply sewed up the blue as is. It made it more difficult to sew on my machine, of course, but otherwise it wasn’t a big deal.

 

I tried to quilt a few straight lines down the middle to hold the whole thing together, but I was largely unsuccessful and had to abandon that. I couldn’t fit so much batting (two very puffy layers) under the foot of my machine. So here it is: a lovely large dog bed for the animal shelter.

I worked on two other projects, one large, one small. I finally finished sewing down the bindings on those three doll quilts (see them here, here, and here) and started a new one. I’ll post about it when it’s done.

Since we’re talking about destashing, I estimate that the dog bed got 8 yards of fabric out of my stash (the whole comforter) and when I drop off the doll quilts at my guild meeting that’ll be another 2.5 yards out. Well on my way to my goal of 50 yards before I move!

My large project is more shirting quilts. Remember my charity hexagon quilt? My friend A gave me her leftovers. Would you believe the guild still has more shirting fabrics? They were distributing more a couple of months ago and they asked people to make baby quilts for February. So I pulled out A’s remnants and she had soooo much leftover. I have pieced two baby quilt tops and have rows pieced for a third, plus more than enough leftover to back all three of them. My goal for my February charity day is to make the quilt sandwiches and do simple quilting so I can take them to my February quilt meeting. In the meantime, I’ll be working on my scraps to make more doll quilts – plus lots of other projects.

What else am I working on for the next few months? So much – knowing me, too much! I’ve joined the Stash Bee! This month we’re making scrappy, high-contrast Hunter’s Star blocks. I’ll post mine once they’re finished – I’m almost done squaring up HSTs. I’ve also signed up for the Handstitched class taught by Rachel at Stitched In Color. . I loved the quilts she designed for her Angled class but I had NO time for a class in the fall. Now I have some ideas for big and small presents for the next few months but I don’t feel too stressed about any of them. (Mistake? Probably.)  I decided I had the time, and I definitely want to work on my hand stitching and appliqué, so the class sounded perfect. (She’s also teaching a Curves class, but having made a twin sized Drunkard’s Path quilt I feel like I can handle curves if I need to.)  if you’re interested in either class, registration is still open and you save $10 if you sign up by Thursday Jan. 8th. You can read about them here.

So that’s everything I have going on so far. Check in next week to see the first of several (many?) posts on the presents I made for the holidays. I made almost all my presents this year so I have plenty to share!

Leave a Reply

