February Bee Block

Bonus post this week!  I finally finished my February bee block and put it in the mail, and I wanted to share it with you guys.  Cyndi from cyndistitches.blogspot.com was our queen bee for the Stash Bee this month.  She requested a block she called “Woven Strings” blocks, with bright strings pieced into a 9″ white square.  I didn’t have any solid white fabric, so I bought some Kona Snow.  (I later realized that Cyndi had offered to send people white fabric if they didn’t have any – but that’s okay!  This way I saved her some postage.)  I have plenty of bright fabrics!  That was easy.  Most of what I pulled were scraps, plus a little of a Kona solid in some shade of teal (I’m not sure which one) and a purple print from my Aunt D’s stash.

I laid the strings out before I stitched them.  I was afraid if I did it by improv piecing I wouldn’t have an even distribution of colors and warm/cool tones.  I flipped the two yellows between when I laid them out and when I actually pieced them, but that doesn’t matter as far as balance is concerned.

Cyndi’s instructions were really easy to follow.  She instructed us to cut a curve in the block, then piece in a string, then rotate and cut another curve or a straight line, insert a string, and continue until you’ve pieced 6 or 8 strings into your block.

I was nervous about piecing such narrow strips on curves, and I thought it would take me forever, but it went pretty quickly.  I had a much easier time pressing my seams toward the dark than pressing them open on January’s block!  Making sure my strings lined up after I sliced them and inserted another string was a little difficult.  I wasn’t thinking about it the first time it happened but I tried really hard to match them up for the rest of the block.  I think it came out well anyway.

Here’s my finished block and I think it’s really cute.  I hope Cyndi likes it!  I don’t think I would make it again, but it made me think of fun ways to use my strings.  I have some ideas now for doll quilts – I just need the time to put them into practice!

Cyndi asked us where we could live if we could move right now.  Given that right now it’s about 10 degrees outside (and it feels like it’s below zero), my first instinct is somewhere warm!  Actually, I like the area where I live, but I’d rather live out in the suburbs where I could have more space.  (I have no room for all my quilting stuff!)

 

Leave a Reply

