Mother’s Day Presents: Drawstring Bags

For Mother’s Day I made drawstring bags for my mom and my grandma.  My mom requested aqua, and I used the leftover aqua backing fabric from this quilt.  I have strips of random widths leftover, so I cut four approx. 20″ long strips and sewed them together.  I even pressed my seams open!  I wanted to add a little something special, so I took two of these hearts and machine appliqued them.  I used my satin stitch foot and did a zigzag stitch.  I had a little trouble with puckering – not sure what I’m doing wrong there.

For my grandmother, I used a pretty, soft yellow and blue floral print.  I forgot to take a picture, but she loved it.  (I also forgot to take a picture of my mom’s bag before I gave it to her, but I remembered while I was at home last weekend, which is why this post is so delayed.)

Leave a Reply

