Lotus Quilt – Part II

Hello habibis!  Today I’m going to show you the scrappy back I made for the Lotus Quilt.  Tomorrow I’ll show you the quilting and the scrappy binding.

I pulled out all of my black and white prints – and I have a lot.  I bought a bunch awhile ago, because I was planning to make a black and white quilt (or a taxi cab quilt – black, white, and yellow – remember when that was THE palette, a few years ago?  or a black, white, and red quilt – anyway, I never got around to it).  I picked the ones I thought went together the best.

For the back, I started with this print with the pops of red; I’ve always liked it and never wanted to cut it up.  Putting it in a scrappy back is perfect, because I can use the whole piece.

I also used this Alexander Henry print I’ve had for years, “Go For Baroque.”  I don’t know what I thought it said when I bought it, but I was surprised to pull it out and see that it says things like “Here Comes the Sun King.”  It’s a fun print, though.

I finished with a silver-y on black print.  I don’t have a close up of it, but you can see it in the top photo.  The back is asymmetrical – I used the largest pieces of fabric I could, basically.  My roommate thought C would like the back as much as, if not more than, the front, and I have to say I really love it, too.

 

Leave a Reply

