July Bee Blocks

Time for a Stash Bee update!  Our Queen Bee for July is Mary Huey.  She chose this adorable bird block from the Block Lotto.  I was so scared when I first saw it – I thought it was paper pieced!  (Never mind that I joined Stash Bee to challenge myself and learn new quilting skills…)  Imagine my relief when I saw that it’s not paper pieced!  It’s actually a bit of improv piecing and it’s really fun.

Mary asked us to name our birds.  Here’s the Bottle-Beaked Ruby Wren:

The Royal Winged Warbler:

Last, but not least, the Spotted Lantern Marthabird (named after my grandmother, who’s quite fond of pink):

I made three just in case I messed one up!  I was upset when I measured my blocks and found them all to be slightly smaller than they were supposed to be.  Mary said that was fine.  She’d asked us not to trim them – hence the bit hanging off the side.  I used more of that Alexander Henry “Go For Baroque” fabric that I’d put on the back of the Lotus Quilt – and I sent Mary the rest of the scraps, as well.  I’d also cut a few extra pieces by accident, and I thought she might like them for more birds.  The blocks (and scraps) went in the mail yesterday afternoon!

A few scraps for Mary:

Mary asked us what our life-long passion is.  I’d have to say books.  Right now quilting is my passion, but I’ve only been quilting for eight years.  Books, however, have always been a part of my life.  I love reading.  I reread my old classics, Z’s military history books, murder mysteries (I love a good whodunit!), whatever is available.  Z teases me that I still patronize the public library – but I can’t afford to buy books to keep up with my habit!  I read on my commute and on the exercise bike.  Reading is magic!

Leave a Reply

