October Stash Bee Block: Flying Cloud Star

Hive 7 of the Stash Bee made blocks for Lori this month.  Lori asked for any star block in any size, as long as it used darker blues and reds and creams. She wanted an “Americana” feel.

I looked through my “501 Rotary-Cut Quilt Blocks” book (by Judy Hopkins) and chose the Flying Cloud star because I liked the look and the name.  (Isn’t that pretty? Flying Cloud?)



I made the 12″ block.  I didn’t exactly follow the layout instructions for the fabric.  I used the same fabric for all the center pieces: this cute chevron fabric.  I had it leftover from this runner that I made for Z’s dad.

I made my star points out of scrappy blues.  Of course I put all the outer pieces on upside down and had to take them off and redo them. I think the final block looks great!


Lori asked us what our favorite block is and have we ever used it in a quilt.  I LOVE the Drunkard’s Path quilt that I made for myself, so I guess I’d say that.  I’m not sure it’s actually my favorite block, but you can do so much with it!

One thought on “October Stash Bee Block: Flying Cloud Star

  1. Pingback: September and October Stash Report | Habibi Homemade

Leave a Reply

